Artifacts May 2017

June 25, 2017 at 2:02 am 1 comment

I seemed to have missed the April Artifacts that I joined in on in the preceding months.  Seth Apter has started this fun group project.  We are compiling a year’s worth of memorabilia, art, pictures, ephemera, etc. to make a book or some kind of thing to hold it all together at the end of the year.  You can find more about it at Seth’s blog http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/2017/03/artifacts-february-2017.html  He was kind enough to remind us about getting our work in this time if we wanted it posted.  Here’s what I ended up with.

IMG_2321

I wanted to work more with watercolors this time.  I really love watercolor and the effects that can be gotten from it.  I used a canvas block to work on.  I started out by  putting a coat of white gesso on the watercolor paper.  And after that dried I sketched images of a couple flowers and some butterflies I wanted to paint.   Then I added a few washes over the sketches placing small stencils on top here and there to form some patterns.

IMG_2313

Here’s a closer look at the work so far.

IMG_2314

I painted in the flowers and butterflies more using watercolors and some white guache to blend in with the watercolors to bring out highlights.  I wanted to paint the peonies and butterflies in the Chinese manner I had studied a few years back, but I hadn’t realized how rusty I’ve become.  I really need to practice my brush work again.

IMG_2315

At this point I sprayed over the painting with workable fixative, but when I tried to paint over it the butterflies smeared all over the place.  I then sprayed over the whole thing with Krylon 1311 matte finish and that made it possible to paint over the watercolor without smearing.  I also added some of my tore up Sumi painting and some stamps I put on paper, including Seth’s stamp, using matte gel medium.

IMG_2317

I was happy with the results but I needed to cut it down to a size which would fit in my book so I formed a window out of newspint and positioned it over the painting to see what part I liked best.

IMG_2318

I decided on this part of the painting but I needed to add something in the bottom left corner.  So I added a blue wash and then I added a small piece of sumi painting with matte gel medium.

IMG_2321

I’m happy with the result.  I’m definitely excited to explore this way of working with watercolors and collage some more.

Entry filed under: Art Jounal and Canvas Painting Techniques, Art Journal and Painting Techniques, Chinese painting in art journaling, Seth Apter Personal Journal Artifacts 2017, Sumi Painting in Art Journaling, watercolor painting in art journaling. Tags: , , , .

Seth Apter March Artifacts

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


