Personal Journal Artifacts-installment 2

March 5, 2017 at 9:41 pm 1 comment

I have been keeping busy working on my pages for my Artifacts journal.  Seth Apter invited artists to join in and make some kind of collection of their work to put into book form   http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/2017/02/artifacts-january-2017.html

I ended up making three fronts of pages.  The first page I used a lot of color and painting.  I also added copper patina on a couple of the embellishments.  This got me interested in making a page with oxidizing iron paint and I ended up doing two rusted looking pages.

img_2278

Stenciled and Painted Page

 

img_2259

Rusted Page #1

 

Rusted Page #2

Rusted Page #2

 

I started making a page with a lot of colors using stencils and paints over the collage I had already made.  First I covered the bamboo with a piece of clear contact paper to protect it.

img_2208

I continued to collage and added some small dotted paper pieces for the frame around the chinese woman and small rectangles behind the words on the right and on the bottom.  I pasted on the words on the right and the sentiment toward the bottom with matte gel medium.  I also did some scribbling with a Sakura White Pen-touch pen.

img_2209

I added dark blue around the letters and here and there on the piece with a Sky Blue Prima water soluable oil pastel and also added white here and there with a white water soluable oil pastel.

img_2214

 

I added a painted wooden frame around the bottom chinese letters that I had stamped on a blue scrap of newspaper.  I also glued a frame that I made out of cut up 1/8″ wooden dowel that I used Modern Masters Oxidizing Copper Paint and Green Patina aging Solution on.  I wrapped some fiber around the right dowel to add a little interest  I used Seth Apter Border Lines stamps to stamp around the outside of the piece with Black Ranger Archival ink.

img_2278

 

Following are some close ups of the painted and stencilled page.

img_2280

 

img_2281

img_2283

 

For the first rusted page I covered a piece of paper that I got from Lowe’s.  It’s something used for roofing and I liked the texture of it.  I covered it with the oxidizing iron paint according to the instructions.

img_2234

paper from Lowe’s

I tore out a piece of cardstock that would fit aroung the bamboo painting

img_2254

I used Seth Apter’s dies; Ring Around, Drip Drop and Robo Ring to die cut several pieces out of cardstock, and arranged them on the prepared surface.  I also used his now is the time stencil.  I found the blue plastic pieces at the pool I go to.  They’re pieces from broken up lane lines.

img_2255

I next spayed the rust activator over the whole paper and let it sit until it rusted to the point I wanted.  I ended up with extra paper so I die-cut some more of Seth’s  shapes and arranged them on the work.  I also rusted some wooden embellishments and added them to the piece.

img_2257

 

I ended up adding some of the cardstock pieces that had rust on them and also I stamped the cardstock pieces and around the edges of the work with Seth Apter Border Lines and Solar System stamps.  I also stamped around the piece with the Solar Stamps.  I loaded the border stamps with Archival Black ink and also with the white water soluable oil pastel.  I stamped a clear plastic strip and attached it over the bamboo paining with wire.  I also die-cut a clear piece of plastic with the Robo Ring die and glued it over the center of the bamboo.  I wrapped 26 gauge rusty wire around a plastic cup the same diameter as the Robo Ring and glue it inside the Robo Ring die-cut.

img_2259

Following are some close-ups of the Rusty Page #1

img_2265

 

img_2264

 

img_2269

For Rusty Page #2 I added some hemp woven ribbon to the collage.  I also added string on top of the bamboo with gel medium.  I covered the ribbon and the string with modeling paste and I covered all of this with a coat of matte gel medium.  I covered the bamboo with clear contact paper, and then I painted over the collage with the oxidizing metal paint and added the pieces I wanted to act as a resist when I sprayed over it all with Rust Activator.

img_2256

After I sprayed over it with the activator, I let it rust until I was satisfied with the results.  I was happy with the way it looked and I really did very little to it after the rusting.  I just added a couple rusted embellishments and stamped around the outside with Seth’s Border Lines stamps.

img_2270

Following are some close ups of Rusty Page #2

img_2272

img_2273

img_2274

I sprayed over the rusty pages with Krylon Workable Fixatif 1306 to stop the rusting and to protect the other pages from getting stained by them.

Entry filed under: Art Journal and Painting Techniques, Chinese painting in art journaling, Seth Apter Dies, Seth Apter Personal Journal Artifacts 2017, Sumi Painting in Art Journaling. Tags: , , , .

Personal Journal Artifacts 2017 Seth Apter March Artifacts

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  March 28, 2017 at 12:07 pm

    The colorful page is really beautiful, but that rust technique is remarkable! I didn’t know such a thing existed. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


