Creative Jumpstart Giveaway by Liquitex

January 30, 2014 at 6:50 am 4 comments

I entered the Creative Jumpstart event this year at www.nathaliesstudio.com  It is so much fun!  I’m so glad I entered it!   All of the videos are so inspirational and fun to watch.  I’m really learning a lot.

Anyway, I’m entering one of my endeavors (two journal pages) in the Giveaway by Liquitex.  I really love their products and hopefully can win some more.  Below is my entry.

Creative Jumpstart Geveaway by Liquites

Creative Jumpstart Geveaway by Liquitex

This is my second attempt with this method of laying the paints out on a palette and rolling them out with a brayer; and then I added all kinds of designs over the palette paper with various household items; a used paper towel tube, corregated paper, corregated cardboard from a box and a comb.  Then I tore off the palette paper and layed it over my journal pages and printed it by rubbing over the back with the brayer.  I love this technique and the interesting designs that come from it.  Below is a closer look at the two pages.

First Page from Journal

First Page from Journal

Second Page from Journal

Second Page from Journal

When I painted the girl, I let some of the background show through.  I was trying to capture a kind of dreamy look.  I think I could have done it better, but there’s only so much time in a day!  After I painted her hair and while the paint was still wet, I applied Liquitex Flexible Modeling Paste over her hair with a palette knife.  Then I combed  through it with the palette knife and the comb in order to mix some of the hair color in with it.  I also used the modeling paste mixed with color to stamp some of the circles that the “dream” letters are in.  I also used Liquitex white gesso behind the “dream” letters.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

New Blue Fern Garden Collection Creative Jumpstart 2015

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kirsty Vittetoe  |  January 30, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    I can only marvel at your creativity..what a fabulous creation!

    Reply
  • 2. Nathalie Kalbach  |  February 5, 2014 at 10:12 am

    awesome texture and spread- love it. Great entry into the Liquitex Giveway- thank you for being part of CJS2014!

    Reply
  • 3. mandysea  |  February 9, 2014 at 4:52 am

    wow, this is stunning. I think you did create a dreamy look… love the use of texture!

    Reply
  • 4. Looking Out The Window  |  January 22, 2017 at 5:28 pm

    Love your work and all the info you gave on the challenge. It inspires me as I work on my creative journey with Wanderlust 2017

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers


