The Wonder of Watercolor Challenge at Moxie Fab World

May 4, 2013 at 9:55 pm 2 comments

I was going to say that I love watercolor, but who doesn’t?  This challenge really energized me to try a couple things.  I’m entering these projects on http://www.moxiefabworld.com/2013/04/the-wonder-of-watercolor-challenge.html

Wonders of Watercolor Challenge-Wall Art

Wonders of Watercolor Challenge-Wall Art

 

Wonder of Watercolor Challenge-card

Wonder of Watercolor Challenge-card

I made these both in the way, but ended up with a little different results.  I started out by mounting a 18 12″ X 14″ piece, and a 13 1/2″ X 11″ piece of water color on boards with the watercolor tape that you make wet and then put around the paper, after you’ve soaked the paper, and then staple around the tape, BUT I really don’t think that’s all necessary since the paper is only sprayed with water once.  You could easily get by with a watercolor block or just water color tape around the paper on a board.

For the card, first I embossed the big background stamp from Studio 490 Forever Art LCS012 with white embossing ink; I also embossed the two flowers from the same stamp set.  Then I rubbed vertical lines of distress inks, starting from the center and progressing out the two sides with Squeezed Lemon, Wild Honey, Worn Lipstick, Peacock Feathers, Broken China and Walnut.

Step one; emboss and then rub distress inks

Step one; emboss and then rub distress inks

Next I spayed water over the distress inks.

Spray water over the distress ink.

Spray water over the distress ink.

Then I tilted the water color paper to one side.

Tilt the water color paper to one side.

Tilt the water color paper to one side.

Then I tilted it to the other side; then up.

Tilt the water color paper up.

Tilt the water color paper up.

And then down.

Then tilt down

Then tilt down

This is a way to get all the colors to blend.  I allowed it to dry and then cut it to the size I wanted.  I placed a piece of white copy paper over the embossing and ironed it off with my iron set on cotton.  I pounced the same distress ink color on the flower stamp and stamped it on water color paper after I spitzed the stamp with a little water.  After it dried, I loaded a portion of the background stamp (about the same size as the flower with bleach and stamped over the flower.  I cut a square around the flower; I cut a piece of burlap about 1/8″ bigger on all sides.  I pulled enough string from the burlap to wrap around the card front.  I wrapped the string around the card; glued the burlap square and flower square as you see to the front.

I unraveled  a strip of burlap a little and glued it below the flower square and then I stamped the sentiment with Papertrey Sketched Shapes stamp set on vellum and glued it on the strip.  I sewed more  burlap strips through the card on the ends of the vellum strip and tied them into bows.

For the wall art I made the background in the same way only I didn’t emboss the flowers.  I loved the way the watercolor dripped down the sides and top and bottom.  I decided to make a composition with the strip of burlap and the feather (Hero Arts) stamped on white paper.  I framed it and love how it turned out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Make It Monday #113: Perfect Pearls The Wonder of Watercolor Challenge in the Moxie Fab World

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cath  |  May 14, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    Hey Barbara! Thanks for linking this up to the Wonder of Watercolor Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. maria f.  |  May 15, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Love that wall art! Such beautiful results.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


