Eco Chic Easter Basket

March 19, 2013 at 12:51 pm 6 comments

Happy Easter!  Nothing says that like a basket full of eggs.

Tattered Floral Easter Basket

I started out by die cutting some of the crinkled paper with Tim Holtz’s Tattered Floral die.  Next I made bowls of dye to color used dryer sheets.  I have some old magarine and Cool Whip tubs laying around so I mixed up the dyes in those tubs.  I used Distress Paints for the dyes, and I mixed the paints in water unitl it had a skim milk consistency.  I used Spun Sugar, Broken China and Mustard Seed Distress paints.  I submerged a dryer sheet in the tub, rung out the dryer sheet a little (so that it didn’t get too wrinkled) and then layed it on paper towels to dry.  I dyed three dryer sheets per color.

After the dryer sheets were dry, I rubbed some darker colored Distress paints over them.  I used a square of craft foam for the piece to rub over the dryer sheets.  I just cut it into a square large enough for me to be able to handle easily.  I loaded the craft foam square with Picked Raspberry for the Spun Sugar dryer sheet, Chipped Sapphire + Broken China for the Broken China dyed dryer sheet and for the Mustard Seed one, I just kept it the same since I didn’t have a yellow darker than Mustard Seed.  I reloaded the craft foam with the darker color distress paint as often as needed.  It’s so easy to just dab the distress paint onto the craft foam!

First I loaded the craft foam with the darker color

First I loaded the craft foam with the darker color

Next I rubbed the loaded craft foam over the dryer sheet

Next I rubbed the loaded craft foam over the dryer sheetThe dryer sheet after it's been rubbed with the craft foam stamp

The dryer sheet after it’s been rubbed with the craft foam stamp

After the dryer sheets dried, I cut them in half lengthwise, and used one of the halves for die cutting with the Tattered Floral die.

Die cut dryer sheets

Die cut dryer sheets

I used the other half of the dryer sheet to sew around the peat pot.  I used a 5″ peat pot for the basket, gathered and sewed different colored dryer sheets (lengthwise) to the top and bottom with a running stitch.  I alternated blue, pink and yellow dryer sheet sections all around the basket.  I layered flowers with alternating crinkled paper and dyed dryer sheet ones, and attached them to the top with Tim Holtz’s Fanciful Accoutrements buttons and Custom Fasteners; gluing a rhinestone to the top of the smaller fasteners.

Close up of the Tattered Flowers

Close up of the Tattered Flowers

For the eggs, I had some old Easter eggs, but I didn’t like the surface; it was all irregular and I wanted to make them look antique.   I painted over them with white gesso.

Paint over the eggs with white gesso

Paint over the eggs with white gesso

After the gesso dried, I painted over the eggs again with Off-White acrylic paint.

Paint over the eggs with Vanilla acrylic paint

Paint over the eggs with Vanilla acrylic paint

I added some lace trim around the eggs with matte gel medium and then I added some of Tim’s Foliage idealogy charms over the lace trim.

Add lace trim and idea-ology foliage pieces onto the eggs with matte gel medium.

Add lace trim and idea-ology foliage pieces onto the eggs with matte gel medium.

I painted over the eggs again with gesso and then I stained over them with different colors; mustard Seed Distress, Broken China, Chipped Sappire and Spun Sugar Distress Paint (mixed with water to watercolor consistency).  I made one egg yellow, one blue and one pink.  I kept the colors very light.  Then I stained over the colored eggs with Tea Dye and Walnut Stain Distress inks (diluted with a couple spritzes of water).  I repeated staining with these last two until I was satisfied with how distressed the eggs looked.

I stained the eggs with Tea Dye and Walnut Stain Distress Inks until I was sattisfied with how they looked.

I stained the eggs with Tea Dye and Walnut Stain Distress Inks until I was satisfied with how they looked.

I poked holes in the sides of the basket between flowers and added the wired grape leaf handle.  I added the salvage sticker (adhered to corrugated paper die cut with Tim’s Alterations Tiny Tabs and Tags die) with a dyed dryer sheet strip.  I sewed another crinkled paper/dryer sheet flower by sewing it to the knot in the dryer sheet strip.  I adhered a small rhinestone to the middle of the top flower.

Used Dryer Sheets for every Occasion

Used Dryer Sheets for every Occasion

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Tim Holtz Tattered Floral Challenge 12 Tags of 2013; March

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl Caldwell-Nyboer  |  March 21, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    This is just gorgeous!!

    Thanks for joining us at Eureka Stamps this week!

    Reply
  • 2. sandeesetliff  |  March 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    Did you enter this in that big contest they ran..if you did, I think it should have won. It’s gorgeous! waving hi from the hills of North Carolina ♥

    Reply
    • 3. myrepeatingpatterns  |  March 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement! It’s really sweet of you. North Carolina is my favorite state; wish I lived there. Yes, I did enter it in that big contest; and, you know, you’re always a little let down when….oh well, gotta keep on trying.

      Reply
  • 4. Julie Short  |  March 29, 2013 at 4:31 am

    What a wonderful and very eco friendly basket of goodies you have made. I really like the softness. Thank you for joining in at Anything But A Card this challenge.

    Reply
  • 5. Julia  |  March 30, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Such a pretty basket and those eggs are a beautiful addition. Love the soft colours you’ve achieved on your dryer sheets. Thanks for sharing with us at Anything But A Card this time.

    Reply
  • 6. wida.miller@gmail.com  |  April 2, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    first: what a wonderful thing to say on my blog. second: I can’t do this kind of work AT ALL! it is fantastic and a labor of love. We each have our passions and although I try so hard, can’t manage your artistic embellished filled layered beauties 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers


