Tim Holtz Tattered Floral Challenge

March 15, 2013 at 12:03 pm Leave a comment

I was playing around with ideas for the Tim Holtz tattered floral challenge and I ended up working with the crinkled paper technique again.  It works really well using Tim Holtz’s distress paints to lay in the crinkling, and then add some spray inks later.

Tattered Flower Lamp

 

I decoupaged the crinkled paper onto an old IKEA lamp I had laying around.  Then I cut some tattered flowers from some of the crinkle paper and decoupaged them over the first layer of crinkled paper.  I cut out another tattered flower and attached it to some fibers tied around the front.

Close up Tattered Floral

 

Handling the paper was a little tricky.  First I cover the back with some matte gel medium.

Covering back with matter gelMG_2889

Please don’t look at the mess my studio is in.  I really get more of the stuff on myself than the project!   I had a real good idea of paper placement before I positioned the paper onto the lamp.  This is important because the less the paper is handled, the better.  I set it on the top of an old gel medium jar to dry.

Placing paper on lamp

 

First I waited for the decoupaged paper to dry and then  measured the next paper to fit between the ends of the one already decoupaged.  Then I quickley positioned the second paper and allowed it to day.

Decoupaging second paper

 

Before I die cut the flowers, I ironed the crinkles out (as best I could) between two sheets of parchment paper.

Ironing crinkled paper

I thought it turned out pretty well.  Now I’m looking for something else to put crinkled paper on.

Tattered Florals Lamp

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2013 Eco Chic Easter Basket

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


