Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2013

January 15, 2013 at 11:21 pm Leave a comment

I got inspired by Tim Holtz’s new “12 Tags of 2013”  I haven’t posted in so long.  It’s good to get the creative juices flowing again.   Here’s the tag I came up with.

Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2013; January

Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2013; January

I went through so many changes on this; I wanted to outline the steps.  First I stamped some clock images on the tag and then I adhered some of the gears I cut out of vintage looking light paper with Tim’s “Gadget Gears” die.  I also cut out a 1 1/2″ X 3″ rectangle, and adhered a piece of 2″ X 3″ vintage paper on the bottom.  I cut out an additional small gear because I knew I was going to use it “somewhere”.

First step

First step

Next I used Tim’s Tea Dye Distressed Ink and rubbed it over the tag right from the stamp pad.

2nd Step

2nd Step

I wanted to add some color so I put a dot stencil over the tag on the bottom and sprayed Dylusions London Blue ink spray over it.  I removed the stencil, turned it around and stamped the top left with the remaining ink on the back of the stencil.

3rd Step

3rd Step

I sprayed some of the blue ink on the non-stick craft sheet, diluted it with water and rubbed the bottom of the small rectangle in it.  I also rubbed some of the “Tea Dye” distress ink over the extra small gear.  This time I used Tim’s applicator to rub it on.

4th step

4th step

Next I painted DecoArt gesso over the entire tag and rectangle and let it dry.  I like the way the gesso didn’t cover everything completely.  I think it’s because of the special properties of the distress inks.

5th Step

5th Step

I stamped the clock shapes over the tag again.  I also stamped the clock shape on the gear and rectangle

6th Step

6th Step

I rubbed Walnut Ink distress inks over the gears to bring them out more and also around the inside and outside of the tag, rectangle and gear.

7th Step

7th Step

I wasn’t happy with the way the gears looked so I die cut the gears again from some map and script scrapbook paper, and adhered them over the inked gears.  I stamped the saying on the rectangle.

8th Step

8th Step

I thought the gears stood out too much so I rubbed some Tea Dye distress ink over them.  I also rubbed a little Broken China distress ink on the bottom left gear and a little Fired Brick distress ink on the left gear.  I adhered the saying to the front with adhesive dots.

9th Step

9th Step

To finish up, I added Tim’s Sprocket Gears, Game Spinners, Trimmings ribbon and Metal Clips (See the first picture).  I’m looking forward to next month!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

12 Tags of 2012; July Tim Holtz Tattered Floral Challenge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers


