Tim Holtz “12 Tags of 2012” Entry

February 20, 2012 at 9:25 am Leave a comment

Tim Holtz has gone in a new direction with his ever popular tag inspirations.  Instead of the “12 tags of Christmas” this year, he’s making the “12 tags of 2012”  Each month he’ll post a new tag inspiring us to create our own version.

I tried to stay as close as possible to his creation, using the same materials where possible.  I’ve given steps below where I was forced to wander off the main track a little because I simply didn’t have the supplies I needed on hand.

Below is my entry inspired by Tim’s February tag.

I didn’t have the Valentine Silhouettes stamp or the Valentine Backgrounds and Borders Texture Fades, so I first used my applicator to rub “Worn Lipstick” Distress ink all over the card.

I then embossed the tag with “Distressed Frame and Postal” Texture Fades.

I wanted a way to highlight the raised part of the embossed tag, so I loaded a 1 1/2″ x 3″ piece of craft foam with off-white acrylic paint.

Then I stamped the raised part of the tag with the off-white by patting over the top of the tag with the craft foam piece (keeping the loaded side facing the top of the tag).  I kept it as horizontal as possible to stamp the paint on the raised parts.  A little of the paint accidentally touched the areas that weren’t embossed here and there, but I didn’t mind that effect, so I just left it.

I then sanded around the edges with the Tim Holtz sander.

I gathered and adhered the tissue tape to the larger heart following Tim’s steps.

I couldn’t get the honey comb paper, so I decided to add a rosette instead.  The small size rosette on the Tim Holtz alterations Mini Paper Rosettes die is ideal for this.  In case you don’t have the die, it’s fairly easy to make your own rosette.  First color in the small heart with the worn lipstick distress ink and set aside for later.

Next, cut a 5/8″ x 4 7/8″ strip of  paper you’re making the rosette out of.  Make a mark along one edge of the strip every 3/8″

 Accordion fold this strip at each of the marks.

Cut the two corners off on the end opposite the marks.

Open the strip and accordion fold again folding each of the 3/8″ sections in half.

Open and glue the two ends together using Glossy Accents.

Spread some Glossy Accents on the heart.

Spread the folded paper into a rosette shape and press on the heart into the glue and allow to dry.  This glossy accents dries really quickly, so you should only have to hold it in place a short time.

Sand the rosette a little around the edges and raised part.

Glue the rosette to the tissue covered heart using some foam tape.

These are the only two majors changes I made.  I used the same off-white acrylic paint to paint over the philosophy “cherish” tag.  Then I rubbed it off real quick with a damp paper towel, leaving off-white paint in the recesses of the letters.

I’m already looking forward to what he has next month!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Etsy Giveaway-Aviator Hats Bundle Winners!! Etsy Giveaway-Aviator Hat Bundle

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


contact

barbaragreve123@gmail.com

Archives

Dylusions

Tim Holtz 12 Days of 2012

MojoMonday

Cas-ual Fridays

Cas-ual Fridays

Runway Inspired Challenge

Simon Says Stamp.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers


